Last verified September 16, 2026

Food Database API Comparison 2026

Eight food and nutrition APIs side by side: Edamam, FatSecret, Nutritionix, Spoonacular, Open Food Facts, Chomp, USDA FoodData Central and FoodBase. This page is for developers choosing a data source for a calorie tracker, a grocery or retail app, a meal planner or a research pipeline, and for anyone who has been burned by a vendor page that says “millions of foods” without a number.

How the cells were sourced: every competitor figure was read from the vendor's own pricing, documentation or terms page on September 16, 2026; the exact pages are linked in the sources list at the bottom. Where a vendor does not state something, the cell says “not published” instead of an estimate. FoodBase figures come from its published plans, terms and endpoint docs. We make FoodBase, so read its column the way you would read any vendor's own claims, and check the others against their sources. The page is re-checked quarterly.

The comparison table

Scroll sideways on small screens. Catalogue sizes count different things (products, recipes, restaurant items), so compare them as orders of magnitude.

Feature Edamam FatSecret Nutritionix Spoonacular Open Food Facts Chomp USDA FoodData Central FoodBase
Catalogue size (as stated) Close to 900,000 basic foods, restaurant items and consumer packaged goods; 130,000 branded restaurant itemsMore than 2.3 million verified food items; 19,000+ recipes1,266,570 food items: 1,053,256 grocery (48,317 brands), 202,837 restaurant (860 restaurants), 10,477 common tags600K+ grocery products; 115K+ menu items across 800 American restaurant chains; 5,000+ recipes; 2,600+ ingredients4,753,255 products (site header count)1.2 million+ grocery products, branded foods and raw ingredients; the Limited plan has 900k+ branded foods onlynot published on the pages fetched (data types: Foundation, SR Legacy, FNDDS, Branded, Experimental)6.1M products: Open Food Facts (4.1M) plus USDA FoodData Central (2.0M) plus GS1 Bulgaria (14K) and Metro Bulgaria (7.8K), merged into one schema
Barcode lookup Yes, search by UPC/barcode; the page claims 790,000 unique UPCs and over 700,000 unique UPC, ITN and EAN codesYes (food.find_id_for_barcode; UPC-A, EAN-13 and EAN-8 as GTIN-13); states a barcode success rate exceeding 90%Yes (/v2/search/item powers UPC lookup); claims coverage for over 92% of grocery items in the U.S. and CanadaYes (search grocery products by UPC, described as UPC lookup of American grocery products); coverage not publishedYes (GET /api/v2/product/{barcode}.json); coverage claim not publishedYes (barcode lookup on all plans); coverage claim not publishedBranded items carry a gtinUpc field and the FAQ cites search by GTIN number; no dedicated barcode endpoint; coverage not publishedYes (GET /v1/foods/barcode/{gtin}); GTIN zero-padding variants resolve server-side (0000080042556 finds 80042556); hit rate not published
Nutrients per item 28 nutrients for basic foods; UPC and fast-food items carry what is listed on their nutrition label19 fields per serving: kcal, carbs, protein, fat (saturated, poly, mono, trans), cholesterol, sodium, potassium, fiber, sugars, vitamins A, C and D, calcium, ironnot published (the docs page fetched lists endpoints only)Calories, fat, saturated fat, carbs, net carbs, sugar, cholesterol, sodium, protein, fiber plus “many micronutrients”; count not publishedA “nutriments” object as declared on the label (energy, fat, carbs, sugars, fiber, proteins, salt, ...); count not publishednot published (the docs site redirects to a dead Stoplight host)A foodNutrients array per item; count not published40+ nutrients per 100 g where the source has them; typed, fixed schema with the unit in each key
Product images not publishedYes on Premier: food images in three sizes (.png); not listed for the Basic editionnot publishedYes: product and menu-item images; nutrition label as an HTML widget or PNGYes: product photos plus OCR (CC BY-SA); also distributed via AWS Open Datanot publishednot publishedOpen Food Facts contributor photos where present; records from other sources may have none
Ingredients and allergens 40+ health labels including allergen-free flags (dairy-free, peanut-free, ...); ingredient lists: not published10 allergens (egg, fish, gluten, lactose, milk, nuts, peanuts, sesame, shellfish, soy) plus vegan and vegetarian flags; Premier onlynot published (a “Wellness Claims” add-on derives attributes from the ingredient statement)Ingredient lists; allergen detection (wheat, dairy, eggs, soy, nuts); diet badges (vegan, vegetarian, Paleo, Whole30)Yes: ingredients_text, allergens, additives, labels, Nutri-Score and NOVAIngredient search on Standard and Premium; allergen fields: not publishedBranded items include an “ingredients” field; allergens: not publishedIngredients, allergen tags, category tags, Nutri-Score and NOVA on the food record
Languages and markets not publishedPremier: more than 58 countries and 26 languages (the localization guide lists 19 language codes); Basic: US and English onlyAdd-on for unbranded foods: EN (UK/US), ES, PT, NL, TR, DE, IT, FR, JA, KO, CS, AR, PL; grocery coverage US and CanadaWidgets in “en” or “de”; data focus on American productsMulti-country and multi-language (lc and cc parameters); counts not publishednot published (“in the United States, and all around the world”)US data (English); Branded Foods also includes products sold in New Zealandlang parameter: en, fr, es, de, it, bg (6 languages); catalogue strongest for Europe and the US
Free tier No free plan listed; the cheapest plan has a 30-day trialBasic: free self sign-up, 5,000 calls/day, US only, attribution required; Premier Free (unlimited) for startups under $1MNone: the portal states it can no longer maintain a public free-access tier; limited trial via sales contactFree $0: 50 points/day, 1 req/s, 2 concurrent requests, backlink requiredEntirely free; no API key for reads; a custom User-Agent of the form “AppName/Version (email)” is requiredLimited $0/mo: pay per request at $0.01, 30 req/min, branded foods only, attribution requiredFree: 1,000 requests/hour per IP with a data.gov key; DEMO_KEY allows 30/hour and 50/day per IPFree $0: 100 requests/day, 1 req/s (burst 5), 25 nutrient breakdowns/day, 2 API keys, 100 AI credits/mo; no credit card
Entry paid tier Enterprise Basic $14/mo: 100,000 calls/mo, 50 req/minPremier: price on request, based on market access (not published)not published (contact sales)Cook $29/mo: 1,500 points/day then $0.005/point, 5 req/s (Academic/Hackathon $10/mo up to 5,000 req/day)No paid tier (not published)Standard $25/mo plus $0.001/request: 100 req/min, 1.2M+ foods, all search endpoints, 5-day free trialNo paid tier (not published)Starter $19/mo: 5,000 requests/day, 5 req/s (burst 25), unlimited nutrient breakdowns, bulk lookups, 5 API keys
Rate limits Basic 50/min; Core ($69) 100/min; Plus ($299) 300/min; Unlimited: custom5,000 calls/day on Basic; per-second limits not publishednot publishedFree 1 req/s; Cook 5; Culinarian 10; Chef 20 req/s; endpoints cost 0.1 to 3 points15 req/min per IP for product reads; 10 req/min per IP for search; HTTP 503 when exceeded; “1 API call = 1 real scan”Limited 30/min; Standard 100/min; Premium ($299/mo) unlimited with no per-request fee and tiered MAU fees1,000 req/hour per IP (default); DEMO_KEY 30/hour, 50/dayFree 1/s, Starter 5/s, Pro ($49) 20/s, Enterprise ($99) 50/s; daily 100 / 5,000 / 25,000 / 100,000; every 429 carries Retry-After
Attribution and licence Attribution required on every plan: a “Powered by Edamam” badge plus link; breach means service suspensionAttribution required on Basic and Premier Free; Premier: attribution not required (white label)not publishedFree plan: backlink required; paid plans: none; cache for at most 1 hour (except id, title and image); storing nutrition data is prohibitedODbL plus DbCL, and CC BY-SA for images: attribution with a link to openfoodfacts.org and share-alike requiredAttribution “Required” (Limited), “Requested” (Standard), “Optional” (Premium)Public domain, CC0 1.0 (“not copyrighted”); suggested citation “USDA ARS FoodData Central, 2019”See terms: no FoodBase attribution clause; Open Food Facts-derived data carries ODbL attribution and share-alike obligations; food records are served with Cache-Control max-age=300
Self-serve sign-up Yes (online plan sign-up with a credit card)Yes for Basic (free self sign-up); Premier goes through salesNo (trial account via a sales form; the main site was temporarily offline for upgrades when checked)Yes (Get Started; free key without a credit card)Yes (no sign-up for reads; an account is needed for writes)Yes (Get API Key)Yes (API key sign-up form; DEMO_KEY for exploration)Yes (online sign-up, keys from the dashboard, plan upgrades in the dashboard)

“not published” means the vendor's public pages did not state it on September 16, 2026; it does not mean the feature is missing.

Vendor by vendor

Edamam

Edamam's Food Database API states close to 900,000 basic foods, restaurant items and consumer packaged goods, with 130,000 branded restaurant items and a UPC index it puts at 700,000 to 790,000 codes. Its 40+ diet and health labels (dairy-free, peanut-free and so on) are the most granular labelling in this table, and basic foods carry 28 nutrients. It beats FoodBase on restaurant items and on allergen labelling depth. There is no free plan, only a 30-day trial on the $14 per month Enterprise Basic plan (100,000 calls per month, 50 requests per minute), and a Powered by Edamam badge with a link is mandatory on every plan. Images, ingredient lists and language coverage are not published.

Strengths

  • Large UPC coverage claim (700k to 790k codes) plus restaurant items in one API
  • Rich diet, health and allergen labelling (40+ labels)

Weaknesses

  • No free plan; attribution is mandatory on every tier
  • Images, ingredient lists and language coverage are not published

FatSecret

FatSecret advertises more than 2.3 million verified food items, a barcode success rate above 90% and, on the Premier edition, data for more than 58 countries in 26 languages, so on barcode hit rate and country breadth it beats FoodBase. The free Basic edition allows 5,000 calls per day, far more than FoodBase Free, but is US-only, English-only and requires attribution; images, the 10 allergen flags and non-US data all need Premier, whose price is on request. A small startup under $1M can apply for the free unlimited Premier tier. Each food carries 19 nutrient fields per serving, and per-second rate limits are not published.

Strengths

  • Largest stated catalogue (2.3M items) with 58+ country datasets and 26 languages on Premier
  • Generous free Basic tier (5,000 calls/day) and a free unlimited Premier tier for small startups

Weaknesses

  • Premier pricing is not published; images, allergens and non-US data need the Premier edition
  • 19 nutrient fields per serving; per-second rate limits are not published

Nutritionix

Nutritionix publishes exact counts: 1,266,570 items, of which 1,053,256 are grocery products across 48,317 brands and 202,837 are restaurant items from 860 restaurants, with over 92% barcode coverage claimed for US and Canadian groceries. Its restaurant-chain coverage (600+ chains monitored) and the /v2/natural endpoint that parses free text like a food diary entry are things FoodBase does not offer. The trade-offs are commercial: the public free tier has been withdrawn, pricing, rate limits and licence terms are not published, and access starts with a sales form. Grocery coverage is US and Canada; a language add-on covers unbranded foods only.

Strengths

  • Largest US and Canada grocery plus restaurant-chain coverage (600+ chains monitored, dietitian-curated)
  • Natural-language nutrient parsing endpoint (/v2/natural)

Weaknesses

  • No free tier and no published pricing, rate limits or licence terms
  • Not self-serve; grocery coverage is US and Canada

Spoonacular

Spoonacular is the recipe-first option: 5,000+ recipes and 2,600+ ingredients alongside 600K+ grocery products and 115K+ menu items from 800 American restaurant chains, with product images and a nutrition label you can embed as an HTML widget or PNG. Pricing is fully self-serve and published: $0 for 50 points per day at 1 request per second, Cook at $29 per month for 1,500 points per day at 5 requests per second, up to Chef at 20 requests per second. It beats FoodBase on recipes, menu items and widgets. Its terms cap caching at one hour and prohibit storing nutrition data, which rules out offline use, and the catalogue is American-focused with widgets in English or German only.

Strengths

  • Recipes, ingredients, grocery products and menu items in one API with rich nutrition widgets
  • Transparent self-serve pricing with per-second limits published

Weaknesses

  • American product focus; widgets in English and German only
  • One-hour cache limit and a ban on storing nutrition data rule out offline or persisted use

Open Food Facts

Open Food Facts is the open, crowd-sourced database with 4,753,255 products, product photos, ingredient text, allergens, additives, Nutri-Score and NOVA, all free under ODbL and DbCL (images CC BY-SA), plus nightly dumps in MongoDB, JSONL, Parquet and CSV. It is also the largest of FoodBase's own sources, so on cost and openness it beats FoodBase outright. The API is rate-limited to 15 product reads and 10 searches per minute per IP and answers 503 when you exceed that, a custom User-Agent is required, the licence carries share-alike obligations, and there is no paid tier or support contract. If your traffic fits inside those limits and you can attribute, start here.

Strengths

  • Largest open product count (4.7M) with full nightly dumps (MongoDB, JSONL, Parquet, CSV)
  • Truly global and crowd-sourced with images, ingredients and allergens, at zero cost

Weaknesses

  • Rate limits of 15 product reads and 10 searches per minute per IP, with 503s when exceeded
  • Share-alike licence and crowd-sourced data quality; no paid support tier

Chomp

Chomp lists 1.2 million+ grocery products, branded foods and raw ingredients, with barcode lookup on every plan and the cheapest metered entry in the table: the Limited plan is $0 per month plus $0.01 per request at 30 requests per minute (branded foods only, attribution required), and Standard is $25 per month plus $0.001 per request at 100 requests per minute with a 5-day trial. Raw ingredients alongside branded products is a combination FoodBase does not have. When we checked, the documentation link redirected to an unavailable Stoplight host, so nutrient fields, images, allergen fields and language coverage could not be verified and are marked not published.

Strengths

  • Cheap usage-based entry ($0 plus $0.01/request) with barcode lookup on every tier
  • Includes raw ingredients alongside branded products

Weaknesses

  • API docs were unreachable when checked, so nutrient fields, images and languages are unverified
  • Per-request fees on top of the monthly price below the Premium tier

USDA FoodData Central

USDA FoodData Central is the reference dataset most of the others build on: lab-analysed Foundation and SR Legacy foods, FNDDS, Experimental foods and Branded Foods supplied through the GS1 US / 1WorldSync partnership and refreshed in April 2026, all public domain under CC0. On nutrient provenance for US foods it beats FoodBase, which in fact ingests it. The API is free at 1,000 requests per hour per IP with a data.gov key (DEMO_KEY: 30 per hour, 50 per day), but there is no barcode endpoint (branded items expose a gtinUpc field you can search), no images, no paid tier, and the data is US English with some New Zealand branded products. A total product count is not published on the pages we checked.

Strengths

  • Public-domain (CC0) lab-analysed Foundation and SR Legacy data; the reference source others build on
  • Branded Foods via the GS1 US / 1WorldSync partnership, refreshed April 2026

Weaknesses

  • US data only (plus some New Zealand branded products); no barcode endpoint, no images
  • 1,000 requests/hour per IP with no paid tier to raise it

FoodBase

FoodBase merges Open Food Facts (4.1M rows), USDA FoodData Central (2.0M), GS1 Bulgaria (14K) and Metro Bulgaria (7.8K) into one 6.1M-product catalogue with a single schema, stable deterministic ids, 40+ nutrients per 100 g where the source has them, search in six languages and a barcode endpoint that resolves GTIN zero-padding on the server. Every plan, including Free (100 requests per day, no credit card), ships AI credits for photo-to-product, label OCR and meal analysis; Starter is $19 per month for 5,000 requests per day. Where it loses: there is no restaurant or menu data, no recipes and no natural-language portion parsing; coverage is strongest in Europe and the US; and it is a young product, so crowd-sourced rows have nulls where USDA rows have numbers and the API surface is still growing.

Strengths

  • Largest merged catalogue (6.1M) with Open Food Facts and USDA records in one schema and stable, deterministic ids
  • Six search languages, server-side GTIN normalization and AI vision endpoints (photo to product, label OCR, meal analysis) on every plan

Weaknesses

  • No restaurant or menu-item data and no recipes
  • Coverage is strongest in Europe and the US; other markets depend on Open Food Facts contributions
  • No natural-language portion parsing (“1 large banana”)
  • A young product: the catalogue and the API surface are still changing, and crowd-sourced rows have nulls where USDA rows have numbers

How to choose

A calorie-tracker startup

You need barcode scanning, text search and a nutrient table on every hit, at a price that survives a slow first year. Start free on FoodBase (100 requests per day, 25 nutrient breakdowns, AI credits included) or on FatSecret Basic (5,000 calls per day, but US-only with attribution) and see what your users actually scan. If diary entries typed as free text (“1 large banana”) are the core of the product, budget for Nutritionix, because neither FoodBase nor Open Food Facts parses natural language. If most users are in the US and Canada and restaurant meals matter, Nutritionix's 202,837 restaurant items are the deciding column.

A retail or grocery app in Europe

The deciding columns are languages, European coverage and the licence. Open Food Facts is the only fully open option and covers every country its contributors do, but 15 product reads per minute per IP and share-alike licensing constrain a commercial app. FoodBase serves the same Open Food Facts base plus USDA, GS1 Bulgaria and Metro Bulgaria through one schema in six languages (en, fr, es, de, it, bg) with plan-based rate limits from 1 to 50 requests per second and no share-alike beyond the obligations that already attach to Open Food Facts data. FatSecret Premier's 58+ countries and 26 languages are the broadest stated coverage, at a price you have to request. Spoonacular, Chomp, Nutritionix and USDA are American-focused or do not publish language coverage.

Research or a US lab that needs reference nutrients

Use USDA FoodData Central directly: Foundation and SR Legacy foods are lab-analysed, the data is public domain (CC0) with a suggested citation, and 1,000 requests per hour per IP is generous for a research pipeline; the full dataset is also downloadable. Open Food Facts adds label-declared values, ingredients and photos for branded products worldwide, with nightly dumps for offline analysis. FoodBase is useful here only if you want USDA and Open Food Facts records in one schema behind one key rather than two ingestion jobs; it adds no nutrient measurements of its own.

Frequently asked questions

Which food database APIs have a free tier? +

Open Food Facts is entirely free with no API key for reads (15 product reads and 10 searches per minute per IP). USDA FoodData Central is free with a data.gov key at 1,000 requests per hour per IP. FatSecret Basic is free at 5,000 calls per day but US-only with attribution. Spoonacular's free plan gives 50 points per day with a backlink. Chomp's Limited plan is $0 per month but bills $0.01 per request. FoodBase Free gives 100 requests per day with no credit card. Edamam lists no free plan (a 30-day trial on its cheapest plan) and Nutritionix has withdrawn its public free tier.

Which food database API has the most products? +

By stated count: FoodBase 6.1M (a merge of Open Food Facts, USDA FoodData Central, GS1 Bulgaria and Metro Bulgaria), Open Food Facts 4.75M, FatSecret 2.3M, Nutritionix 1.27M, Chomp 1.2M, Edamam close to 900,000 and Spoonacular 600K+ grocery products. USDA does not publish a total on the pages we checked. The numbers count different things: Edamam and Nutritionix include restaurant items, FatSecret and Spoonacular count recipes separately, and FoodBase's total includes the Open Food Facts rows it is built on, so treat them as order-of-magnitude figures.

Which APIs support barcode (UPC/EAN/GTIN) lookup? +

All eight in some form. FatSecret states a barcode success rate above 90%, and Nutritionix claims coverage for over 92% of grocery items in the US and Canada. Edamam claims 700,000 to 790,000 unique codes. Open Food Facts, Spoonacular, Chomp and FoodBase offer barcode endpoints without a published hit rate. USDA FoodData Central has no barcode endpoint, but branded items carry a gtinUpc field you can search on. FoodBase resolves GTIN zero-padding variants on the server so 0000080042556 and 80042556 return the same product.

Do I have to show attribution when I use these APIs? +

It depends on the vendor and plan. Edamam requires a badge and link on every plan. FatSecret requires attribution on Basic and Premier Free but not on paid Premier. Open Food Facts data is ODbL plus DbCL (images CC BY-SA), so attribution with a link and share-alike apply. Spoonacular requires a backlink on the free plan only, and also caps caching at one hour and prohibits storing nutrition data. Chomp lists attribution as required, requested or optional by tier. USDA data is public domain (CC0). FoodBase's terms contain no FoodBase attribution clause, but data that originates from Open Food Facts keeps its ODbL obligations in your application.

Which food database API is best for Europe and non-English products? +

Open Food Facts is multi-country and multi-language by design. FatSecret Premier advertises more than 58 countries and 26 languages, but Basic is US-only. FoodBase searches in six languages (en, fr, es, de, it, bg) and adds GS1 Bulgaria and Metro Bulgaria to the Open Food Facts base, so it is strongest for European and US retail products. Nutritionix offers a language add-on for unbranded foods while its grocery coverage is US and Canada; Spoonacular focuses on American products; USDA is US data plus some New Zealand branded items; Edamam and Chomp do not publish language coverage.

How were these numbers verified and how often is the page updated? +

Every cell was read from the vendor page linked in the sources list on 2026-09-16. Where a vendor does not state a figure the cell says “not published” rather than an estimate, and Chomp's API docs were unreachable when checked so several of its cells are unverified. FoodBase figures come from its published plans, terms and endpoint documentation. The page is re-checked quarterly; the last verified date at the top of the page changes when it is.

Sources

Every page the table was built from, with the date it was read. If a vendor has changed a figure since, tell us at /contact and we will re-verify the row.

Try FoodBase against your own product list

100 requests a day on the Free plan, no credit card. Check the plans or start with the docs.